Updated COVID Protocols

 Face masks are required in all indoor facilities regardless of vaccination status. Effective January 1, 2022, proof of vaccination will be required for students, employees and visitors. Visit dccc.edu/coronavirus for additional information.

Delaware County Community College, Serving Delaware and Chester Counties

The Marie Patriarca Award

Marie Patriarca Award winners

The Marie Patriarca Award was established by Labron K. Shuman, a professor in the Public Services/Social Science department for 20 years. Professor Shuman created the award in 2005 to honor excellence in our support staff as exhibited by Marie Patriarca, long-time Secretary to the former President, Dr. Richard DeCosmo, and Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees.


The Marie Patriarca Award is presented annually to a full-time support staff employee in good standing for at least seven years.


Support Staff employees nominated should:

  • Demonstrate excellence in overall work performance
  • Promote positive morale through a congenial, supportive attitude and by providing service to others
  • Put forth an effort to improve self as well as to develop and recognize others
  • Exhibit initiative and creativity resulting in improved operating efficiency of the Department and/or College

Nomination Process

A support staff employee may be nominated by any employee or student of the College. Please review the list of eligible staff and complete the nomination form for any candidate you believe merits consideration. 

Selection Process

All nominations will be reviewed by members of the award committee. The announcement and presentation of the winner is planned for April. Members of the Marie Patriarca Award Committee include Steve Aquilani, Alexandra Salas, Robert Anding, Harry Costigan, Diane Foster and Marie Patriarca.