Updated COVID Protocols

 Face masks are required in all indoor facilities regardless of vaccination status. Effective January 1, 2022, proof of vaccination will be required for students, employees and visitors. Visit dccc.edu/coronavirus for additional information.

Delaware County Community College, Serving Delaware and Chester Counties

Gould Award

Each year a College-wide search is launched for a full- or part-time faculty member for excellent performance. New nominations, self-nomination, or previous recipient nominations are all encouraged.

The award is made possible by an endowment established by the late Mrs. Jerry Gould, who was a former member of the Board of Trustees at the College. It is given at commencement each year to a faculty member and the winner's name is inscribed on a plaque bearing the names of previous recipients.

The deadline for nominations for 2021 is Friday, March 26, 2021. 

Nominate a Faculty Member for the Gould Award >>

“Faculty embody the spirit and philosophy of the College. Through their classroom contacts, they can aid students in learning, help them to increase their knowledge and spark spirit and energy. Within the faculty are individuals whose commitment, achievement and love for what they do inspire both students and colleagues. It is these faculty members whom the Gould Award is established to honor and, by honoring them, to encourage others to emulate.” 

Mrs. Jerry Gould

Anyone with knowledge of faculty performance in the classroom may nominate full-time or part-time faculty for this award: the deadline for nominations is usually the last Friday of March.

Gould Award recipients are selected by a panel of five faculty and two students on the basis of their demonstrated excellence in the classroom, and the impact they have on the lives of students.

Award Winners

  • 2021 Anthony Makowski
  • 2020 Lauren Donovan
  • 2019 Steve Lin
  • 2018 David Freeman
  • 2017 Jean Allison
  • 2016 Sid Kolpas
  • 2015 Jaime Treadwell
  • 2014 Kathy Schank
  • 2013 Stephen Smith
  • 2012 Elaine Dreisbaugh
  • 2011 Bela Dadhich
  • 2010 David Robson
  • 2009 Christine Gibian
  • 2008 Tom Dowd
  • 2007 Linda A. Durkin
  • 2006 Anthony Daly-Leonard
  • 2005 Patricia Contrisciani
  • 2004 Michael Johnson
  • 2003 Steven Aquilani
  • 2002 Lana deRuyter
  • 2001 David Gates
  • 2000 Sarah Singer
  • 1999 Janet Urbanelli
  • 1998 Dessa Crawford
  • 1997 Carol A. Lillis
  • 1996 John Cronin
  • 1995 William K. Yeager
  • 1995 Patrick McDaid
  • 1994 Dorothy Russo
  • 1993 John F. McCormack, Jr.
  • 1992 George Spillane
  • 1992 Juanita Schultz
  • 1991 Doris K. Benfer
  • 1990 Margaret Schlairet
  • 1989 Harry LeFever
  • 1988 Raymond Maruca